Way More Followers Than Following? Don’t Count Me In

Not that you would notice or care that I don’t care for your values

Maria Shimizu Christensen
3 min readAug 13, 2021

--

Photo by Clem Onojeghuo on Unsplash

How to get more followers! How to get followers without following anyone! How to improve your follower to following ratio!

Barf.

There are so many of these types of articles percolating up through Google-land. Everyone wants to be an influencer these days. Well, not everyone, thankfully, or I’d have no one left to follow.

I’m new to Medium so I’m regularly looking around for great writers to follow. People who write things that interest, help, or amuse me, and who have a decent grasp on grammar and logical flow. People who know how to tell a good story or craft an evocative poem. People with distinct voices who talk about important issues. I’m not looking for perfection. I do prefer heartfelt over boring but technically correct. This means I’m actually reading a whole lot of stuff. But, before I start reading I take a quick look at the follower/following ratio, and that determines whether I continue reading or shut down the page.

Look, I get that there are some really influential people in areas outside of the world of celebrities who don’t actually do anything. People who give advice that everyone seems to want. People who consistently say…

--

--

Maria Shimizu Christensen

Writer. Maker. Featured in Medium’s 2021 list of Stories That Started Conversations. I write about life. https://www.mariashimizuchristensen.com